Fab Ciraolo

A good friend introduced us to Chilean artist Fab Ciraolo’s brilliant depictions of historical icons dressed up in (dare we say it) hipster outfits. They are just great. He’s massively busy so it was the nicest of surprises when his answers for this interview popped into the my inbox.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How are you?
Really sleepy.

What’s your background in art? How did you get into it?
I’ve been drawing and painting since I have memory, it’s part of my life. I have a very academic artist background, but just because I love old artists – I never took classes or anything. How did I get into this? It’s the only thing I want to do for the rest of my life and I worked my way through.

What gave you the idea to recreate famous people from history and give them a whole new look?
I was looking for something new… something fresh. I was really tired and bored with all the new things I was seeing over here, so I gave these people a twist – a new life. I just picked characters that interest me for some special reason. Dali, for example, is an artist that I really admire.

Which one is your favourite? I like Salvador Dali and Dorothy the best.
I don’t have a favourite, it’s too hard. I like little details of all of them. But if I had to pick one, I’ll pick the last one I did – the twins from The Shining movie. It was exactly how I wanted to do it – the colours, the looks… I was really pleased with that last work.

What’s the art scene like in Chile? 
I don’t know if there is an art scene. I suppose there is, but I don’t care about being part of that or a scene or a movement. I just do my stuff because I love to. One thing is sure, here in Chile we have amazing artists still without recognition, doing amazing stuff, but sadly it’s always the same people that are in teh spotlight. It’s boring, we need fresh minds!

Leave a Reply

